AJAX progress indicator
  • Why Follow Buddhist Precepts
    Five Buddhist Precepts
    The five Buddhist precepts (part of Sila, or ethics in Sanskrit) are practices or rules that serve as the ethical foundation of Buddhist practice for laypeople. Monks or nuns may have many additional precepts, depending on their sect. The five lay Buddhist precepts are as follows: To(...)
  • Sengcan
    Xin Xin Ming
    The Xin Xin Ming is a poem on Buddhist mind training practice commonly attributed to Sengcan, the 3rd Zen Patriarch. I'm listing it here as it's one text we've been discussing again as a group, and one that I keep rereading again and again. One translation is here. I've had this one on(...)